top of page


Established December 2016, the 1890 Universities Foundation (“Foundation”) supports the core missions of education, outreach and academics across the nineteen 1890 land grant universities in the United States. It is organized and operated exclusively as a 501(c)3 charitable and educational organization.


The 1890 Universities Foundation mobilizes and manages resources to facilitate broad based programs, initiatives, and approaches across the 1890 universities system. We provide a mechanism for the universities to respond to new and emerging issues and challenges in the 21st century. As we foster critical collaborative projects across the 1890 universities, our objective is to discover practical and meaningful solutions to the compelling economic, social and environmental challenges faced by our communities today.


The following 19 member universities were designated as such through the Morrill Land Grand Act of 1890:

Alabama A&M University

Alcorn State University

Central State University

Delaware State University

Florida A&M University

Fort Valley State University

Kentucky State University

Langston University

Lincoln University

North Carolina A&T State University

Prairie View A&M University

South Carolina State University

Southern University System

Tennessee State University

Tuskegee University

University of Arkansas Pine Bluff

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Virginia State University

West Virginia State University


​In conjunction with university partners, the Foundation acts as an innovative and adaptable resource for the 1890 university system through mobilization and management of capital and forging collaborative partnerships. Additionally, the Foundation builds unique partnerships with key federal and private sector entities including the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page